Maybelline Volum’ Express Colossal Cat Eyes!

 

What it looks like

 

This mascara comes in a yellow bottle similar to the regular Volum’ Express Colossal mascara.

The lid or wand handle has a leopard print design on it in a bronze/brown colour.

The brand and product name are printed on the bottle in the same bronze/brown colour.

The wand features a thin, small curved brush.

As far as I’ve noticed this is only available in black

 

What they say

 

“Full volume, flared corners, fiercely colossal lashes…in just one stroke! Discover Maybelline’s new Volum’ Express Colossal Cat Eyes mascara.

The new feline applicator stylises lashes to a full fan of wild volume – it’s savagely sexy! Fills out lashes up to 9x the volume, with fabulous cat-like corners instantly. Only our lush collagen-enriched formula creates Colossal feline volume in one stroke. The result? Our sexiest, most savage colossal look: The Feline Flares! It’s wild!”

 

My Review

 

 

I bought this mascara for £5.99 from Superdrug (currently on promotion, the usual price will be £7.99) which I find is a good price for a cheap mascara.
When I first opened the bottle I was hit with a strong chemical smell which I found a little off-putting but after a couple of uses the smell seemed weaker (or I just got used to it!).
I found the brush a little too small. The idea is that the curved brush creates a fanned out look but it doesn’t reach all the lashes, you have to move down along the lashes to coat them all which in my mind defeats the purpose of the brush shape. If the brush was just a tiny bit longer it would be perfect and I may wash and re-use a brush from an older mascara to test it properly.
As for bigger, volumised lashes? Well…I found I got better results from the Maybelline Falsies mascara; my lashes did look a little longer but nothing like the sales pitch promises (definitely nothing like the girl in advert).
I wore the mascara to work (warm rooms, running around all day, strong lighting), it had flaked a little after 6 hours but nothing major and it could be easily fixed or covered.  By the end of the night (I’d say 11 hours) it was flaking off when ever I lightly brushed across my lashes with my fingers.
It was easily removed, I used a little hot water and some facial soap and this got rid off the majority…a quick wipe with a facewipe got rid of the stubborn bits).
 

My Verdict

For a cheap mascara this isn’t too bad but you can get the same effect with bigger volume by using the Falsies effect from the same brand. I’d give this a 6 out of 10.

If you have any comments/tips or questions please feel free to leave a note!

 

 

Leave a Reply

