Dead Sea Natural Black Mud Soap

As promised this is my post on the Dead Sea mud mask.

The product I’m reviewing is the Dead Sea Natural Black Mud Mask soap from Boots which comes in at about £3.39 per bar and is worth roughly 12 points on your loyalty card.

I’m not quite sure where to put  this exactly as most people tend to use it on their face but it can be on the body.

Appearance

The bar comes packaged in a cardboard box featuring an image of the Dead Sea. Check the box carefully rather than just grabbing one off the shelf as there are multiple products in the Dead Sea Miraculous Source line and the packaging is similar. The Mineral soap has a navy coloured box, the Natural Black soap has a black box and their Sulphur soap has a dark Grey box. I know they’re going with colours you’d associate with mud but I would prefer it if the manufacturers wouldn’t use shades so similar to each other (I admit, in a rush on a hectic dinner hour I have managed to pick up the wrong box, and in a rush to get this up and posted I’ve only just realised that I photographed the wrong box!)

The bar itself is a dark grey/black oval ‘soap’ bar which feels like smooth dried mud (obviously) and gets quite slippery wet; be warned if you have a light coloured bath suit/counter tops, putting the soap bar on light surfaces will result in dark marks being left behind…quite easy to remove but makes everything look dirty.

(This photo shows the Sulphur Soap, it’s the same packaging for the mineral and mud soaps.)

The Dead Sea

The Dead Sea is found in the Jordan Valley and is famous for its therapeutic and cosmetic properties; it is in fact land locked and relies upon thermal springs that flow into it. These springs release huge quantities of natural minerals such as Sulphur, Calcium and Sodium and many more. It is these minerals that can provide relief from skin conditions such as eczema, acne and psoriasis and they form the basis of the Malki Dead Sea range that is available at Boots.  

Product Information

According the manufacturers blurb the soap is made according to a traditional family recipe which includes Olive, Palm, Coconut Oil and Vegetable Oil. There are no detergents or animal fats –instead the soap has been filled with minerals uniquely found in the Dead Sea. The Dead Sea range is also lanolin and Sodium Laurel Sulphate free

This soap aims to remove dead skin cells and impurities.

Using the Dead Sea soaps may help with increasing blood circulation.

My experience

I use this when I have a break out or if my skin feels particularly clogged and/or dry.

All I do is wet my face, wet the bar and then apply the mud to my face. After a couple of minutes I rinse the mud off and then pat my skin dry. I don’t use this every day, just every couple of days or when needed. The box doesn’t mention anything about how often to use it and I know plenty of people who use this every day along side/instead of their regular facial soap.

My skin always looks nice and glowy after each use and feels really soft and hydrated. I find that using the soap when I have a break out tends to help clear it up a little quicker and helps me feel extra clean.

The smell leaves a little to be desired but hey, it’s mud! At least the smell doesn’t linger.

A few people that I’ve discussed this with have said that they found it a little too pricey but I have to disagree.  You only need apply a light layer of mud so the bar lasts for ages, consider this against the sachets of mud masks that you can buy at about 99p…you only get one use out of them and it’s extremely difficult to squeeze all of the mud out of the pouches so you only tend to use around about 80% of what you’ve paid for.  If you use face masks/mud masks regularly then you actually save money in the long run by using the soap bar.

I am going to give this bar a 9/10. Fab price, fab results and only one point knocked off for the scent.

 

6 thoughts on “Dead Sea Natural Black Mud Soap

  1. Hey there, I needed to ask you some thing. Is this a wordpress blog site? I will be contemplating moving our weblog from Blogger to wordpress, ya think that is doable? Additionally did you set up this unique theme by yourself some how? Bless you for the help!

    • This is a wordpress blog yes. I think it would be pretty easy to transfer from Blogger and this isn’t really a unique theme. It’s a wordpress theme with a few custom changes i.e. the background image and header image, pretty easy to do.

  2. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to do not forget this site and give it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

