Spring/Summer Trends: Tribal

Submission to the Next Blogger Network.

Tribal Prints are once again in fashion and I think I’m going to give them a try this year.

I was never a fan of ‘tribal’ anything until I went to Kenya whilst at university to stay with the Maasai tribe (amazing experience, everyone should do the whole “tribal wives” thing!) Now every time I see tribal prints I’m drawn back to memories of Africa and my time there.

I’ve tended to stay away from this trend in the past as I never thought I’d suit them…I’m probably the palest girl in the U.K and I’m quite small so I’m afraid of being swallowed by loud, bold prints but fashion has progresses and now tribal, geometric prints etc are pretty much accessible to everyone and are super easy to wear.

Tribal may be in stores this spring but be sure to keep your items and stash some away for summer and the festival season.

Here are my picks for Tribal 2012

Shoes

 

Next: always popular in summer, high street stores are already being flooded with wedges and platform shoes. These will be perfect for summer holidays.

For those who don’t like prints on their shoes or want something a little more versatile Next are also offering these Raffia wedges in a nude colour. Another perfect buy for summer. 

Bags

Another fun piece from Next. This clutch is bright and colourful but isn’t too in your face. It will also cross over with the colour block trend currently in stores and should take you right through to Autumn.

For everyday use I love this tribal canvas bag from Red Herring (Debenhams) and even better, it’s on sale at the minute at £14.00!

Dresses

 

Quite a versatile dress from Next; You can bring Tribal to the office or dress it up and wear it on a night out.

Or if you’re going away on holiday or if we’re lucky enough to have a hot summer I recommend this maxi dress from River Island (£35)

 

Skirts

Lipsy at Next: Oh dear lord I love this skirt. I must buy it immediately. That’s all I can say.

If you’re a little colour shy then Topshop have also brought out a tribal print skirt with a more relaxed, casual feel to it (£28).

Interiors

Next: How cute are these wire horses? You don’t have to have a particular colour scheme or a tribal themed room to enjoy these. These little guys will fit in anywhere and are quite different to the usual tribal home accessories (vases, head carvings and pictures of tribal people). I may just end up buying these for myself!

If you want something authentic, made by communities in Africa then check out The Africa House (http://www.theafricahouse.com/story.php). I love this runner made in Lewa Downs in Kenya.

How are you going to be wearing this trend? Send in pictures of your Tribal outfits/accessories and I’ll feature them on the blog.

2 thoughts on “Spring/Summer Trends: Tribal

    • The horses are lovely aren’t they! I’m trying to find a little space for them to go in my house. Loads of stores are bringing out Tribal prints now. I discovered some triabl print leggings in my store today that I’ve never seen before. It’s not too “in your face” as it has been in the past. Thanks so much for your comment! xx

Leave a Reply

