Soap and Glory: Flake Away

Apologies for the photographs, my Nikon is out of service and I had to use my sisters point and shoot and it is the most ridiculous thing. If you have the flash on it bleaches the pictures, if you turn the flash off the focus stops working. Me thinks she needs a new camera.

I received the small tub of Flake Away (50ml) as a christmas present from a family member.

Flake Away is an exfoliating scrub which is light brown/beige in appearance and smells pretty darn amazing.

What They Say

 

Superhero-strength skin smoothing body exfoliator with shea butter, sweet almond oil, peach seed powder, sea salt and sugar. Flake Away™ a spa-strength dry skin body scrub.

Apply a handful of Soap & Glory Travel Size Flake Away™ Body Scrub  onto damp skin and massage in circular motions until most of the grains are gone. Rinse well, pat dry and apply moisturiser over the top whilst taking in the wonderful aromas of leafy greens, bergamot and mandarin, with floral and fruity middle notes, and a soft, sexy, musk, oakmoss, amber and woody drydown

Boots January 2012

Where To Get It

Flake Away is available in two sizes; both are available from Boots and Boots.com.

50ml currently priced at £2.35

300ml currently priced at £6.64 and on offer.

The Brand

I think my regular readers are aware that I’m a Soap and Glory fanatic. I find it difficult to walk past their lovely retro pink stands without picking something up.

Soap and Glory is a cult brand started by the woman behind Bliss Spa (Marcia Kilgore). The brand is well known for its pink, retro and kitsch packaging and lately for its cosmetics launch and “2 minute rinse” campaign. For more information see the Soap and Glory website; please note that you can’t actually buy their products from their website.

On a scale of 1 to 5 how much did you enjoy this product? (1=not at all, 5=loved it!)

I’d give this a 5. It smells amazing, it really does exfoliate the skin and leaves it soft and smooth. The instructions advise applying a moisturiser after using Flake Away but honestly, the exfoliater leaves my skin so soft that a moisturiser just isn’t necessary.

If you have sensitive skin I’d advise to just add a tiny bit to your usual shower gel. I can take rough exfoliators but recently I damaged my skin and it was quite sensitive to and rough gels/mitts etc. Adding a tiny bit to my shower gel meant that I wasn’t putting as much of the exfoliator directly on my skin and it wasn’t as rough; the product still worked, my skin was still soft and smooth after though I did go through the extra moisturiser step. It will also make the pot last longer

An added bonus is the fact that a little bit goes a hell of a long way. If I rebuy this I’ll probably stick to buying the travel sized pot as it seems to be lasting me a long time.

Leave a Reply

