GlossyBox January 2012: Orly Lacquer in Ruby

This post is about the trial size bottle of Orly Nail Lacquer that I received in the Valentines edition of Glossy Box.

Please note that I am not a Glossy blogger or one of their ambassadors and I paid the full £12.95 price for this box.

To find out more about Glossy Box and subscribe for yourself please refer to early posts under the Get Glossy category or click here: http://www.glossybox.co.uk/invitation/NDIyMDk=?utm_source=Customers&utm_medium=link&utm_term=NDIyMDk=&utm_campaign=Refer-a-friend/

The Product

 

Orly Nail Lacquer in Ruby

What they say

As one of the nail care industry’s renowned color houses, ORLY seasonally introduces new collections and updates its array of over 150 permanent lacquers. By diligently analyzing fashion trends and precisely custom-blending hues, ORLY has established a dynamic palette composed of subtle sheers, vivid crèmes, dazzling shimmers, smooth glitters and hot neons. Plus, each ORLY lacquer is free of DBP, Toluene, Formaldehyde and features our award-winning Gripper Cap  Glossy Box Website January 2012

 

 

The Brand

I’ll put my hands up and say that I’m not that familiar with the Orly brand but after receiving it this month I’ve done a little research.

Orly was started in 1975 by Jeff Pink. 37 years on the brand is available in over 66 countries, it originated one of the most versatile and popular looks ever: “the french manicure” and has won 12 ABBIES awards. 

Orly polishes are free from DBP, toluene, formaldehyde and formaldehyde resin.

 On a scale of 1-5 (one being the lowest, five the highest) how much did you enjoy using this product?

I have to give this a 3. From a product labelled as a “high end luxury brand” I was expecting a little more.

What was your favourite aspect of the product?

I really liked the packaging, specifically the handle. Orly have a special handle which makes it easier to grip and control the brush and I thought it was very comfortable to hold.

I also liked the colour. It reminded me of a duller version of the 17 Chateau that I reviewed at Xmas and if you apply 3 layers it deepens to a lovely ruby/wine shade.

It has a matt finish which looks quite nice and I did like it but I would have preferred a glossy finish. This is an easy fix though, just add a top coat!

Index & Little Finger: 1 coat. Middle and Ring finger: 2 coats

 What was your least favourite aspect of the product?

I thought this polish would have a bit more staying power than any that I could buy on the high street.

I painted my nails following the instructions given by Glossy Box :

After the protective base, apply two thin layers of nail polish. Wait 1-2 minutes before applying the top coat dries and protector.

I first applied this on Tuesday night and by Wednesday morning pretty much every nail was chipped which led to much rushing around in the morning trying to get ready faster so I’d have time to re-paint and fill in the gaps on my nails.

I painted them again this afternoon and at 7:00pm, chips had once again appeared. The photo below was taken five hours after application. 

Perhaps I need to apply a thick base or top coat to improve durability.

Would you buy the product that was sent in your GlossyBox?

The things I like about this product are the colour and finish. For £6.95 for 18ml it’s not the most expensive lacquer out there but I can get the same or similar colours on the high street. If the lacquer was longer lasting then I would probably at least consider this brand when I’m next shopping for polish.

Did you get this in your box? What did you think?<!–[!!!] MISSING INFO [!!!] MISSING INFO: INGRED. Read more…

–>

Leave a Reply

