Carmine January 2012: Balance Me Radiance Oil

This post is about a product I received in the January edition of Carmine.

I paid half price for this box in the introductory offer (£7.95) and did not receive this box for review/publicity purposes.

To receive this box for yourself click any of the links above or send me a tweet.

The Product

Radiance Oil is available in two size options: 10ml for £15 or 30ml for £30. I received a 5ml trial size bottle.

The trial bottles come with a roller ball dispenser but looking at images on the Balance Me website, the full size bottles do not have the same dispensing system.

What They Say

If you thought all oil was bad oil, well, guess again! Turns out that just a few drops of this 100% natural, skin-boosting oil will combat congested pores and give you a healthy glow. Plus, it’s balancing, hydrating and comfortable to wear! “ Carmine February 2012

To Use

Massage a couple of drops into clean skin before applying moisturiser.

I have been using this during the day. I roll the applicator across my face and then massage the oil into my skin. I then apply a thin layer of moisturiser and allow this to ‘sink in’ before applying make-up.

The Brand

I have never heard of this brand before although the design of their products do seem very familiar.

Balance Me sell high end natural aromatherapy products which are paraben and sulphate free. The company was founded by sisters in 2005 after requests for their exfoliants by TopShop and the brand can now be found on the high street and winning various awards.

On a scale of 1-5 (one being the lowest, five the highest) how much did you enjoy using this product?

I am going to give this a 4.

This is a nice product have especially with the weather we’re currently experiencing. Going into heated building after being outside in the cold can leave your skin feeling dry and looking tired. This product is designed to keep your skin hydrated and soft. I’ve also heard that some people are applying this to their lips before going to sleep so their lips are nice and soft when they wake up.

The trial bottles do seem very tiny but you only need a couple of drops of the oil so it does go a long way. I do like the roller ball applicator and I was hoping that the full sized bottles would have it too. The roller ball means that you get the right amount onto the skin and you’re not wasting any of the product.

Because of the size of the bottle, it was a little difficult to get things working and rollerball was a feature of many queries and complaints; some people have even resorted to biting out the rollerball entirely. If you have this product and you haven’t used it yet or are still having difficulties here is what you need to do:

  • Give the bottle a good shake
  • Gently squeeze the plastic around the rollerball to loosen it

 

This is all you need to do to get things moving. Give it a good shake each time you use it but don’t expect a lot of product to come out when you use it.

The oil itself doesn’t feel greasy on my skin. I know a few other bloggers have stated that this is a product designed for “mature skin” and couldn’t be used by anyone with younger skin. Not true. This doesn’t make your skin oily or greasy, it makes it soft and supple.

The oil made my skin feel warm for a few seconds which I think is a sign that it’s sinking in and working. It makes my skin look softer and hydrated. My cheeks in particular looked nice and plumped up; in fact my complexion looked better all around. I was left with a nice dewy glow that far surpassed the Murad dewy glow primer.

The trial size bottle will most likely last me awhile but I will definitely be buying myself a full sized bottle as a little treat when I can afford it.

 I don’t know if I’ll like the full size bottles as much….a strange thing to say I know but I feel like I’m getting the right amount when I use the rollerball and I always tend to go overboard and use too much when I get bigger bottles. Maybe I’ll try decanting some of the product into the trial bottle.

Alternatives

So, it’s not an oil that you can wear under your make-up but I find I can get the same soft and dewy skin look by using the Planet Spa face mask from Avon. The mask contains mediterranean olive oil and is designed to hydrate the skin. Apply to skin, wait for 20 minutes and then rinse off. I particularly like that it’s a clear mask so I can walk around the house and answer the door etc without looking like a crazy martian or scaring young children. It’s also slightly more budget friendly at only £4.50. Yay!

Planet Spa Mediterranean Olive Oil Hydrating Face Mask

 

 Have you used any of these products?

3 thoughts on “Carmine January 2012: Balance Me Radiance Oil

  1. Pingback: Balance Me Radiance Oil: Update | Blush

  2. I used the planet spa med oil face mask for the first time a few days ago, as I received it as part of a ‘face mask giftset’ which was a Christmas present. I agree with what you have said about it- I loved it! It made my skin lovely and soft, and also helped clear up my pores and left my complexion looking brilliant in just one application.

  3. Pingback: Balance Me: Radiance Face Mask | Blush

Leave a Reply

