Balance Me: Radiance Face Mask

This post contains honest, unbiased opinions of a product sent to me for review purposes.

I received a trial size of the treatment which I did not pay for.

The Product

Today I am reviewing the Radiance Face Mask treatment from Balance Me.
Two sizes of this treatment are available:
• 15ml for £4.50
• 75ml for £18.00

The sample I received was a 15ml tube.

Ingredients

 INGREDIENTS: Aqua, Kaolin, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric triglyceride, Prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil, Cetearyl alcohol, Cetearyl glucoside, Cetearyl alcohol, Glyceryl stearate, Juglans regia (walnut) shell, Citric acid, Benzyl alcohol, Dehydroacetic acid, Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) ***, Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary)*, Cymbopogon martini (palma rosa)*, Lavandula angustifolia (lavender)*, Anthemis nobilis (Roman chamomile)*, Angelica archangelica (angelica)*, Pelargonium roseum asperum (rose geranium)*, Citrus aurantium amara (petitgrain)*, Cananga odorata (ylang ylang)*, Chondrus crispus (carrageenan) seaweed gum, Tocopherol (vitamin E), Sodium stearoyl lactate, (AHA Fruit acids complex:) Sodium lactate (and) Sodium PCA (and) Sodium glycolate (and) Sodium citrate (and) Sodium malate (and) Lactic acid (and) Glycolic acid (and) Malic acid, Geraniol**, Linalool**, Limonene**, Citronellol** *natural pure essential oil **naturally occurring in essential oils ***certified organic ingredient

The Brand

Since receiving the Radiance Oil in the January 2012 Carmine box I have been seeing Balance Me products everywhere and I am now somewhat addicted to them! If I a bit more cash to spare I would be using their products all the time.

Balance Me sell high end natural aromatherapy products which are paraben and sulphate free. The company was founded by sisters in 2005 after requests for their exfoliants by TopShop and the brand can now be found on the high street and winning various awards.

What They Say

Benefit from our triple-action mask that deeply cleanses, exfoliates and brightens. We believe in good old fashioned multi-tasking and this mask is equally effective as an exfoliating face wash!
Ground walnut shells gently slough away dead skin cells and encourage cell renewal, purifying kaolin clay helps eliminate impurities and our fruit acid complex works on restoring the skin’s natural radiance. We have enhanced our mask with a bespoke blend of rosemary, palma rosa, lavender and Roman chamomile oils to help soften, calm and cleanse.
Smooth over cleansed face and neck, using circular massage movements to allow the ground walnut shell particles to gently exfoliate the skin. Avoid the delicate eye area. Leave for up to five minutes and then remove with damp cotton wool or a wash cloth. Splash face and neck with water and pat dry before applying one of our face moisturisers or oils.

My Opinions

I was looking forward to trying this as I’m currently using a cheaper alternative from Avon so I liked to see how a more expensive product compared.

I read the description before opening the product to see what this mask was all about;  I like that Balance Me put “98% natural origin” right on the front of the product, how many times have you seen “natural” on the front of something and then read the back of the packaging and found that the natural ingredient is the last thing listed and makes up about 2% of the whole product? With Balance Me it’s quick and easy to identify the natural products and know exactly how much of it is actually…well, natural.

I like that it exfoliates as well as just being a standard mask, exfoliation keeps the skin healthy by getting rid of dead skin cells and brightens the skin. I also love products that contain clay as I always think they work better to get rid of impurities deep down in your pores.

My first thought when I squeezed the product onto my hand was “oh no! It’s opaque!”, those of you who read my short Avon mask review know that I love clear masks; I hate walking round the house and answering the door with a face caked in coloured or thick masks! This mask at first appearance is a cream/grey paste with walnut particles in it (for exfoliation) and I must admit that I was slightly disappointed. But….as soon as I started massaging the mask into my skin it became transparent, woohoo!

I must admit that I prefer masks that you keep on for longer than 5 minutes. Don’t get me wrong, the product does work in five minutes but I’ve always thought that the longer I leave the mask on, the more time it has to work and cleanse my skin and I feel like I’ve had more of a treat. This is a good ‘everyday’ mask; I could fit this in, in the morning or just before bed.

I did break out in a couple of blemishes when I first started using this but (and bear with me as this is where most people start to lose me) this is a good thing!

If I start to break out when I first start using a cleansing product I know that it’s working, the blemishes show that all the badness and dirt is being brought out to the surface and although I may want to hide under my duvet for a day or two once they clear up my skin stays perfectly clear. It happens with Lush cleansers, with the Dr brand skin treatments and basically with all good quality cleansers that I’ve ever used. You’ve just got to give things a chance to work before giving up on them.

Before using this treatment I had quite a few blackheads on my nose and a couple of already existing blemishes.  So far I’ve used this mask for about week and a half and the blackheads have all gone and the blemishes are all healed.

I was a little unsure of how to use this really. Before cleanser or after cleanser?  I know the instructions say apply to  a cleansed face but at the minute I’m using the cleanser from Balance Me which is also a face balm (review coming soon!). Surely if I use this after the cleanser I’m going to be washing the moisturising face balm off? So,  I’m washing my face with a standard face wash, using the face mask, rinsing it off and then using the cleanser/face balm to remove all traces of the mask and moisturise my skin.

I have noticed that my skin is looking softer and brighter, especially this weekend; I’ve got flu at the moment and my skin is dry and grey and as I’m back at work on Sunday I’ve spent the past few days trying to look less zombie like.  I’ve been using the mask everyday whilst I’ve been ill and my skin definitely isn’t as red as it usually gets when I have flu, it’s also not as dry and flaky so it scores bonus points for helping me to look human. I’d probably keep a small stash of this especially for these types of situations.

I’d give this 4 out of 5.

Here is a photo of me after I started using the radiance face mask:

 

To read more about the radiance face mask and to buy it for yourself click here.

One thought on “Balance Me: Radiance Face Mask

  1. Pingback: Balance Me: Cleanse and Smooth Face Balm | Blush

Leave a Reply

