Balance Me: Cleanse and Smooth Face Balm

This post contains honest, unbiased opinions of a product sent to me for review purposes.

I received a trial size of the treatment which I did not pay for.

The Product

Today I am reviewing the Cleanse and Smooth Face Balm from Balance Me.

This daily essential is available in two sizes:

  • 15ml for £4.00 and
  • 125ml for £20.00

The full size 125ml tube comes with a muslin cloth.

I received the 15ml tube which is an ideal size for testing the cleanser or for taking with you on holiday etc; This size option does not come with a cloth.

Ingredients

Prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil, Colloidal oatmeal, Cera alba (unrefined beeswax), Mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, Butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter***, Theobroma cacao (cocoa) butter, Polyglyceryl-4 caprate, Oleic/Linoleic/Linolenic polyglycerides, Hydroxystearic/Linolenic/Oleic polyglycerides, Rubus chamaemorus (cloudberry) seed extract, Cocos nucifera (virgin coconut) oil***, Aleurites moluccana (kukui) oil, Rosa canina (rosehip) fruit oil, Camellia oleifera (camellia) oil, Citrus reticulata (mandarin red)*, Litsea cubeba (litsea may chang)*, Citrus aurantium amara (petitgrain)*, Anthemis nobilis (Roman chamomile)*, Cananga odorata (ylang ylang)*, Coriandrum sativum (coriander)*, Tocopherol (vitamin E), Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) extract, Limonene**, Linalool**, Citral *natural pure essential oil **naturally occurring in essential oils ***certified organic ingredient Balance Me, March 2012

The Brand

Since receiving the Radiance Oil in the January 2012 Carmine box I have been seeing Balance Me products everywhere and I am now somewhat addicted to them! If I a bit more cash to spare I would be using their products all the time.

Balance Me sell high end natural aromatherapy products which are paraben and sulphate free. The company was founded by sisters in 2005 after requests for their exfoliants by TopShop and the brand can now be found on the high street and winning various awards.

What They Say

Cleanse and smooth face balm is a daily must-have for its dual cleansing and smoothing action to enhance your skin’s natural radiance. Anti-oxidant rich Arctic cloudberry, gentle Roman chamomile and skin-brightening red mandarin smooth away daily grime and make-up leaving skin soft, radiant and calmly clean. Gently polishing oatmeal sloughs away dead skin cells and encourages cell renewal. Shea and cocoa butter, softening rosehip, camellia, kukui nut and virgin coconut oils, rich in essential fatty acids, vitamins and lipids provide a layer of skin-boosting goodness which benefits both young and more mature skins.  

How To Use

Warm a small amount of balm in clean hands. Smooth over face and neck, gently massaging the balm with your finger tips in circular movements, allowing the oats to polish the skin for at least 30 seconds. Apply warm water and continue massaging for a further 30 seconds. Close eyes and wipe carefully over lids and eye lashes, avoiding direct contact with eyes. Wet the muslin cloth provided with warm water and remove balm residue from your skin. Pat skin dry then apply our moisture-rich face cream or radiance face oil. We recommend this balm for normal to dry/sensitive skins but it also works very effectively on all skin types.

My Opinions

I’ve kind of been inundated with cleansers thanks to my beauty box subscriptions but as I haven’t found the cleanser I was quite happy to give this a whirl.  Before this trial I was using the Lulu Time Bomb cleanser which wasn’t really aimed at my age or skin type but it did the job.

I read the description before opening the product to see what this cleanser was all about;  I like that Balance Me put “100% natural origin” right on the front of the product, how many times have you seen “natural” on the front of something and then read the back of the packaging and found that the natural ingredient is the last thing listed and makes up about 2% of the whole product? With Balance Me it’s quick and easy to identify the natural products and know exactly how much of it is actually…well, natural.

The cleanser is a kind of light green colour and smells really good. I can’t quite put my finger on which of the ingredients it is that I’m smelling but it’s really fresh and ‘clean’.

I didn’t really feel the exfoliating oats but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Oats are small enough and soft enough to get rid of all the dead skin cells on your face without scratching or irritating your skin so this is a good cleanser for sensitive skin. If you really like to feel the exfoliating beads and give your skin a good scrub then I’d choose something else.

As with their Radiance mask, the product goes clear once it’s massaged onto your skin so don’t worry….no green sheen on your face! When it’s first applied and massaged in it does make your face and hands look and feel really greasy but again, don’t worry that disappears when you rinse off.

I don’t have any muslin cloth (that hasn’t been used for baking) so I used a standard, clean face towel. I really don’t think you need the muslin, any clean soft fabric will do!

I also found that a little goes a long way with this cleanser so the full sized tube would probably last me awhile. After using it I noticed that my skin felt really soft and looked nice and plumped up. It did feel like there was a protective layer of balm left behind on my skin which I liked but I know that some of you don’t so if you’re one of those people that like to be left with a completely squeaky clean feeling then I’d go for something like Time Bomb ; For me this cleansing balm cut out the moisturising stage in my routine, I really didn’t want to add anymore moisturiser to my skin as it felt so soft and smooth already and you all know me…anything that cuts out time or extra products gets extra points!

I used this in combination with the Balance Me mask and I must admit that there is less redness on my face and I survived the bout of flu with less flakiness and greyness that I’m usually plagued with when I’m ill so it gets bonus points for that too!

Now that I’ve used the entire contents of the tube would I buy it? hmmm…it is a good cleanser and it is in my “good products” list but there’s nothing that’s particularly made me think “I must buy this straight away”. Lush do an oatmeal cleanser and soap bar so there’s nothing really new with this one but Balance Me is in my top 5 and when I eventually get through my beauty box cleanser stash I’d definitely consider buying it again.

I’d give this a 4 out of 5

To read more about the cleanse and smooth face balm and buy it for yourself click here

Leave a Reply

