Andrea Fulerton Polish: Julia

This post is about a full size bottle of nail polish that I received in the February edition of Carmine Beauty Box.

I am not a Carmine blogger or employed by Carmine but I did receive this box for free because I cashed in loyalty points.

To read more about Carmine and to get your own box with discount/free delivery click here.

To see what else I got in my February Spring theme box click here

The Product

Andrea Fulerton Nail Polish in Julia. Carmine customers received a full sized bottle in one of 6 spring themed shades worth £4.99

Andrea Fulerton Nail Boutique products are available from Superdrug.

What They Say

Professional formula nail varnish and brush. Durable and long lasting. Allows nails to flex without chipping. Resin system gives easy application. Apply in one or two coats. Superdrug March 2012

On a scale of 1-5 (one being the lowest, five the highest) how much did you enjoy using this product?

I have to give this a 2.

The colour is absolutely beautiful and perfect for this time of year. The shade I received is suitable for everyday wear so I can wear it to work and out to dinner etc. It’s a really good dupe of an O.P.I shade (whose name I can’t remember but I’m still searching for); it’s a kind of dusky pink/mauve colour which is great for early spring.

The description says it can be applied in one or two coats and one coat does in fact give a fully opaque, even coverage. So why did I mark it down?

The durability is awful, you definitely need a base and top coat with this paint. I painted on one coat of the Julia over a Barry M base coat and within one hour of being at work it was pretty much all chipped off; all I’m doing at work is typing and putting clothes out onto the shop floor etc, so I wasn’t expecting it to chip off so easily. Two coats did make it last slightly longer but again, it didn’t last more than a day and a half.

You really need a base coat to lock that colour onto the nails and a top coat to try and protect the paint and prevent chipping.

I don’t really want to post mobile phone pictures of horrible chipped nails but I don’t have a camera until tomorrow so as soon as I get it back I will re-paint my nails and take swatch pictures for you.

Would I buy this?

If I can find another base coat that really prolongs the durability then yes, I probably would buy this for the colour alone but this really hasn’t impressed me that much.

So far the only cheap “high street” polishes I really like for durability have been from Barry M and if they had a similar shade to Julia I would purchase that instead.

Have you used this brand before? What do you think?

P.S To those of you that did get this polish did you get a full bottle? I’ve used this twice and it already looks 2/3 empty. Maybe I got a duff bottle?

2 thoughts on “Andrea Fulerton Polish: Julia

  1. I think you’re being a little unfair. I got this polish in my carmine box too and love it! I don’t understand why you would apply polish without a base and topcoat – it won’t look as good and it’s not good for your nails. Btw, No7 base and top coats are ace.

    • Thanks for your comment. I did in fact apply base/top coat but it still was pretty much chipped off after a day and a half. Not what I’d expect really. I’m using the Barry m combined base and top coats so maybe I should give No7 a go. Don’t get me wrong, the colour is lovely but I wasn’t as impressed with this as I have been with other polishes on the high street so it gets a 2/5.

Leave a Reply

