Stellar Face Balm

This post contains honest, unbiased opinions of a product sent to me for review purposes.

I received a trial size of the treatment which I did not pay for.

Apologies for the lateness of this post. I’ve been trying to soak up the sun whilst we have it (can you believe it’s meant to snow next week?!) and I’ve been saving this post for awhile as this is a multi-purpose product and I wanted to see exactly how many ways I could use it.

The Product

Today I am reviewing the Stellar Face Balm from Balance Me.

This treatment is available in two sizes:

  • 50ml for £18.00
  • 7ml for £5.00

I received a 7ml tub which I did not pay for.

The 7ml is the perfect size to keep in your pocket, bag etc so you can take it out and about with you.

Ingredients

INGREDIENTS: Butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter***, Mangifera indica (mango) seed butter, Simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, Cera alba (unrefined beeswax), Cocos nucifera (virgin coconut) oil***, Rosa canina (rosehip) fruit oil, Daucus carota sativa (carrot) tissue oil, Tocopherol (vitamin E), Citrus aurantium (neroli)*, Citrus reticulata (mandarin red)*, Citrus aurantium amara (petitgrain)*, Litsea cubeba (litsea may chang)*, Anthemis nobilis (Roman chamomile)*, Calendula officinalis (calendula) flower oil, Limonene**, Linalool**, Geraniol**, Citral**, Farnesol** *natural pure essential oil **naturally occurring in essential oils ***certified organic ingredient

The Brand

Since receiving the Radiance Oil in the January 2012 Carmine box I have been seeing Balance Me products everywhere and I am now somewhat addicted to them! If I a bit more cash to spare I would be using their products all the time.

Balance Me sell high end natural aromatherapy products which are paraben and sulphate free. The company was founded by sisters in 2005 after requests for their exfoliants by TopShop and the brand can now be found on the high street and winning various awards.

What They Say

A multi-tasking pot of super goodness with body-wide dry skin appeal that is equally effective as a hydrating face mask or to combat dry complexions, formulated with a rich blend of organic shea butter, virgin and rosehip oil and mango seed butter.

How to Use

Basically, think of this as a nicer smelling and more natural pot of vaseline. Use it in the exact same way.

My Opinions

I really like this. I always have a small pot of Vaseline on me at all times, in fact there must be a million little tins of the stuff around my house and in all of my many, many bags.

I wasn’t looking to replace my little blue and white tin but I must admit that I do prefer the Face Balm. It has a nicer scent and isn’t as thick and gloopy so I feel better about putting it on my face and in my hair etc.

Again, Balance Me have stuck a huge “100% natural” sticker on the front so I know I’m not putting any nasty chemicals on my skin.  They do this with all their products so you know exactly how much of what you’re using is natural and how much is synthetic.

As for the product itself it truly is multi-purpose so don’t let the name fool you. I have used this for a whole host of things.

I used it firstly as a face balm; any dry spots and rough patches got coated in this before I went to bed and by the morning after they were mostly gone, any stubborn areas got a dab before I put on my make-up and the balm is nice and light so you really can’t tell that it’s there underneath your foundation.

You can apply the balm to your entire face and use it as a face mask. Keep it on all night if your skin really needs a hydrating treat; Perfect if you have sensitive skin that reacts to all the latest complexes and exfoliationg particles that other companies are pouring into their masks.

And why stick to your face? With the lovely summery weather we’ve been having we’ve all been digging out our flip flops and then realising how dry and horrible our feet have become after months of being stuck in thick socks and tights. Rub this balm into your heels and any dry patches on your feet to get them back to standard and ready for summer. Oh and don’t forget the elbows!

We had a really cold  weather snap in February and I always get really chapped hands and lips. Cue Stellar Face Balm…I rubbed a small amount into my lips and into my hands to keep them soft and smooth, it also worked wonders on my cuticles which were looking a tad bedraggled I must admit. And using the balm as hand cream gave me another idea….could I use it in my hair?

I think most of you know by now that hand creams make really good hair styling products if you’re in a bit of a pinch. I always leave my hair wax at home when I’m travelling and just take a small tube of hand cream. Just take a small amount and run through the ends of your hair twisting a little to define curls and waves.

Again, this Face Balm isn’t as thick and gloopy as hand cream so it’s easier on the hair but it is thick enough to hold and define curls. I’ve even used a tiny bit on my fingers when pulling my hair back so that any little strands of fly away hair get tamed.  If you dye your hair you could try replacing your Vaseline with the balm, just run a small amount on the hairline around your forehead and ears and this will stop the dye staining your skin.

This has become my new miracle product and I know that I’ll definitely be taking this away with me when I go home to France and down to London this summer. It’s at least 5 different products in one handy little pot so if you’re one of the people wincing at the £18.00 price tag just take a breath, add together the prices of your moisturiser, hand cream, cuticle cream, hair wax etc and you’ll realise that this is definitely worth the money…and think how much room you’ll be saving in your bag!

Follow Me on Pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

